Your Whole Health: Preventing Injuries in Youth Sports

June 19, 2019 -- School’s out which means summer camps and youth sports are in full swing. As youngsters of all ages head to the parks and playing fields, Logan’s Human Performance Center Resident Cami Stastny, DC, MS, CCSP, reminds parents and coaches to follow a few simple steps to minimize and prevent the risk of youth sport injuries.

  • Ensure proper warm-up and instruction of exercises/drills
  • Be aware and cautious of overuse injuries
  • Encourage participation in multiple sports and activities so the body learns many planes of movement and becomes more adaptable

Dr. Stastny said some coaches lack a fundamental understanding of exercises and how to implement training methods, and unfortunately, they may mirror their personal past experiences and “old school” mentality, which might not fit the group of children they are training. She said it’s not uncommon to see previous collegiate or semi-pro athletes implement training strategies on youth athletes whose bodies are just not ready for it.

When it comes to youth sports, it’s also important to take the time to understand best practices and strategies, which include proper nutrition and hydration, getting plenty of rest and wearing proper gear. 

Chiropractic care is a valuable tool for treating injuries and keeping active youth in good shape, on and off the field. In general, adjustments help with keeping joints healthy. Additionally, movement and mobility screenings can provide a personalized assessment of an injury.

Dr. Stastny said being able to see deficiencies in movement can allow for some simple rehab exercises that can both enhance performance and prevent injury. For example, a chiropractor can make sure the foot is able to absorb forces properly, which can make a big difference in performance and training.  

Not all injuries and athletes should be treated the same. While the knowledge and the techniques used to treat the patient will be similar, how they are applied to each person should be customized to fit the individual. 

Logan Acquires State-of-the-Art Assessment Tool

June 13, 2019 -- Logan will be unveiling a new Simulation Lab featuring a Force Sensing Technology Table, which incorporates technology to aid in development of motor skills used to deliver spinal manipulation.

Associate Professor Daryl Ridgeway said the force sensing technology provides instantaneous data on loads transmitted by the manual adjustment, and offers students immediate objective feedback about their performance, through a display of their force-time profile.

“The skills of the student can then be directly quantified and compared, to expert force-time profiles and the students can then use this objective feedback to model the desired behavior, rather than relying on observation and intrinsic feedback alone,” he said.

The table was developed by Logan graduate John Triano, DC (1973), PhD and researchers at Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College. Dr. Triano is a leading expert in spine care research and chiropractic procedures. He serves as co-director of Conservative Medicine and Director for the Chiropractic Division at The Texas Back Institute, a multidisciplinary spine facility.

A ribbon-cutting ceremony will be held at 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, June 19 in Room 106 of the Science & Research Building. All are welcome to attend.

Jude Miller Offers Tips for Treating Athletes in Chiropractic Economics

June 11, 2019 -- Jude Miller, DC, MS, CCSP, CME, advanced practice clinician at The University of Memphis (UofM), was recently featured in Chiropractic Economics offering his top chiropractic dos and don’ts when working with college athletes.

Dr. Miller graduated from Logan in 2011 and now represents the University as the team chiropractic physician at UofM, where he works with a sports medicine team consisting of 12 athletic trainers, one full-time physical therapist and himself. Logan Doctor of Chiropractic students complete rotations under the supervision of Dr. Miller, assisting with chiropractic care, soft tissue work, dry needling, kinesio taping and laser therapy for UofM student athletes. Read more about Logan’s partnership with UofM here.

Dr. Miller’s Chiropractic Economics feature is available here

Dr. Norman Kettner: Combining Radiology with Chiropractic Medicine

June 10, 2019 -- Norman Kettner, DC, DACBR, FICC, professor and chair of the Department of Radiology, was recently featured in AXIS Imaging News as one of the most influential professionals in radiology.

Check out the full article here – where Dr. Kettner answers five questions about his career, research, his unique approach that combines radiology with chiropractic care, and what he believes the future of diagnostic imaging will hold.

Logan Adjunct Faculty Member Receives Prestigious Award

June 7, 2019 -- The Academy for Radiology & Biomedical Imaging Research has recognized Logan radiology adjunct faculty member Vitaly Napadow PhD, LicAc. with the Academy’s 2019 Distinguished Investigator Award.

Dr. Napadow is one of 37 researchers to receive the award, which recognizes individuals for their accomplishments in the field of medical imaging. Recipients represent the top 10 percent of all academic radiology faculty.

Dr. Napadow serves as director for the Center for Integrative Pain Neuroimaging (CiPNI) and associate professor for the Martinos Center for Biomedical Imaging at Massachusetts General Hospital, the primary teaching hospital for Harvard Medical School.


In addition to serving as an adjunct faculty member at Logan, Dr. Napadow has been a research collaborator with Norman Kettner, DC, DACBR, FICC, chair of Logan’s Department of Radiology, for nearly 20 years.


According to Elizabeth A. Krupinski, PhD, co-chair of the Council of Distinguished Investigators, the award recipients represent the future of research in radiology, advancing the field and developing ways to significantly improve patient care through imaging.


Each of the honorees has met the following criteria:

  • Primary professional appointment in an academic Department of Radiology;
  • Recipient of a MD, DO, and/or PhD degree;
  • Academic rank of at least Associate Professor or its equivalent;
  • Significant research contributions;
  • Sustained productivity, including at least 25 peer-reviewed scientific research publications in which the awardee is the first author or senior author; and
  • Demonstrated accomplishments as an independent investigator with a substantial ongoing research program, including at least 6 cumulative years of funding as the Principal Investigator of a major competitive extramural research grant.

Honorees will be inducted into the Academy’s Council of Distinguished Investigators during a ceremony that will be held in November at the Radiological Society of North America’s 2019 annual meeting in Chicago.

St. Louis Business Journal Features Dr. Ross Mattox as ‘Character’

June 7, 2019 -- Ross Mattox, DC, RMSK, instructor and lead chiropractic clinician for Logan University at CareSTL Health, was recently featured as a St. Louis Character in the St. Louis Business Journal, highlighting his work helping patients treat and prevent back pain and his passion for animals.

As stated in the article: “Through his work as a chiropractor at CareSTL, Mattox has helped hundreds of low-income patients escape both chronic pain and a dependence on opioids. Mattox tailors his care to alleviate back pain by adjusting patients’ lifestyle choices, whether it be quitting smoking or losing weight.

“Through those changes and chiropractor services that CareSTL provides, Mattox and his team empower patients to get back in the driver’s seat when it comes to their well-being.”

Read the full feature and watch the video here

Recently Visited Pages

Click the star to "favorite" a page and keep it at the top of your list of Visited Pages.